DGD220

Lightroom Manipulation (DGD220-3)

Like many other beginner designers, I have a history in using Photoshop for pretty much everything from image editing to illustration. It’s not that I couldn’t see the advantages of using other programs, it was purely that Photoshop was the most versatile option so it was easier to stick to a single program for everything. Upon using Lightroom for post-processing however, I realised that even though the end results were comparable to Photoshop, the ways of achieving those end results was much more streamlined and efficient.

Post-processing is such an integral part of photography. Everything from composition to lighting and colours can be edited in a few touches of a button. This allows us to make effective images much more easily than through straight photography, but as a result it becomes so easy to get sucked into a black hole of editing. The fact that Lightroom is somewhat limited in functionality is actually a boon for the program; it forces you too keep edits simple and true to the source material.

fence composite
Colour adjustments can change the mood of an image.

In particular I found I enjoyed the colour and light manipulation tools in Lightroom much more than those in Photoshop. Lightroom allowed me to manipulate shadowed areas without much loss in quality or noise creation. The tools also enhanced colours in the photographs that I didn’t even notice existed. These attributes combined allowed me to create smooth shadows and visually colourful and appealing images out of photographs that were otherwise quite bland.

wall composite
Colour enhancements made a monochromatic image colourful.
pebbles composite
A few simple adjustments an image can totally change the mood and impact it creates.

 

Overall I enjoyed just how easy it is to accomplish post-processing effects in Lightroom. While it may not have as many functions as Photoshop, the restrictions it placed forced me to extend my skills and for that reason I had a lot of fun. I’m looking forward to producing different effects with post-processing for my final folio.

Leave a Reply

